Molecular programs controlling development and tissue homeostasis

Development and tissue maintenance are highly interrelated processes and molecular programs driving development and differentiation are also triggered when stem cells become activated to replace damaged or lost cells. In our research program we try to understand the transcriptional control underlying tissue development, define stem/progenitor cells in the adult organism and determine the signaling pathways involved in their maintenance and activation. As a model of choice we use the mouse, as its physiology largely reflects that of the human body and as it allows easy manipulation of its genome using transgenic and gene-targeting techniques.


Fig1.: E18.5 developing kidney stained with antibodies WT1 (blue), Pax2 (green) and DBA (red). BN) E18.5 kidney stained with antibodies against WT1 (red) and nephrin (green), a marker for glomerular podocytes.

The mammalian kidney: a paradigm for complex organ development

Kidney function is vital for the human body. It is not only required for the excretion of waste compounds, but also a central cardiovascular organ and as such involved in controlling blood pressure, bone density, electrolyte, mineral, and acid-base balance. Given this multitude of functions it is not surprising that kidney diseases belong to the most common causes of morbidity in developed countries and affect approximately 1 out of 10 adults.

Kidney development requires the tight control of proliferation, apoptosis, cellular movements and differentiation. This control is coordinated by hundreds of transcription factors that form complex networks of interaction. We employ a combination of biochemical (e.g. ChIP-Seq) and genetic techniques to dissect the function of transcriptional regulators in renal development and determine the transcriptional programs regulated by them. Several of our genetically modified mice also represent excellent models for human disease and we are using them to understand the molecular events occurring in these pathologies. Indeed, our research has identified a set of novel candidate genes that we are presently analysing for their involvement in human disease.

 


Fig3.: Cell lineage tracing experiments identify a novel stem/progenitor
cell population in adult adrenals.

Tissue homeostasis and repair

Tissue repair in most organs is guaranteed through resident stem/progenitor cells. While stem cells are essential for organ renewal, there exists clear evidence for an involvement in disease: Lack of activation or depletion of the stem cell pool can lead to progressive organ failure, whereas overactivation of stem cells and their transiently proliferating derivatives can cause overgrowth and cancer.

A second focus of our group is therefore to address some of the key questions in stem cell biology: What is the differentiation capacity of resident stem/progenitor cells? Which factors determine their identity and which signaling pathways control their maintenance and activation? What is the time course of activation during repair processes? Finally, what are the links between stem cells and cancer? To achieve these goals we use genetic analysis in mice including reporter strains to monitor the activity of signaling pathways, cell lineage tracing to allow fate mapping, and inducible knockout and knockin mice to specifically manipulate gene expression in the adult organism.


Fig 4.: Overactivation of signaling pathway predispose to adrenal cancer.

 

Last publications

Sox9 Activation Highlights a Cellular Pathway of Renal Repair in the Acutely Injured Mammalian Kidney. - 2015 - Cell reports - 12 P1325-38 - Kumar S, Liu J, Pang P, Krautzberger AM, Reginensi A, Akiyama H, Schedl A, Humphreys BD, and McMahon,AP

Alternatively spliced isoforms of WT1 control podocyte-specific gene expression. - 2015 - Kidney international - 88 P321-31 - Lefebvre J, Clarkson M, Massa F, Bradford ST, Charlet A, Buske F, Lacas-Gervais S, Schulz H, Gimpel C, Hata Y, Schaefer F, and Schedl,A

Steroidogenic organ development and homeostasis: A WT1-centric view. - 2015 - Molecular and cellular endocrinology - 408 P145-55 - Bandiera R, Sacco S, Vidal VP, Chaboissier MC, and Schedl,A

WT1 controls antagonistic FGF and BMP-pSMAD pathways in early renal progenitors. - 2014 - Nature communications - 5 P4444 - Motamedi FJ, Badro DA, Clarkson M, Lecca MR, Bradford ST, Buske FA, Saar K, Hì¼bner N, Brì¤ndli AW, and Schedl,A

Visceral and subcutaneous fat have different origins and evidence supports a mesothelial source. - 2014 - Nature cell biology - 16 P367-75 - Chau YY, Bandiera R, Serrels A, Martì­nez-Estrada OM, Qing W, Lee M, Slight J, Thornburn A, Berry R, McHaffie S, Stimson RH, Walker BR, Chapuli RM, Schedl A, and Hastie,N

WT1 Maintains Adrenal-Gonadal Primordium Identity and Marks a Population of AGP-like Progenitors within the Adrenal Gland. - 2013 - Dev Cell - 27 P5-18 - Bandiera R, Vidal VP, Motamedi FJ, Clarkson M, Sahut-Barnola I, von Gise A, Pu WT, Hohenstein P, Martinez A, and Schedl,A

WNT4 and RSPO1 together are required for cell proliferation in the early mouse gonad. - 2012 - Development - 139 P4461-72 - Chassot AA, Bradford ST, Auguste A, Gregoire EP, Pailhoux E, de Rooij DG, Schedl A, and Chaboissier,MC

Testicular differentiation occurs in absence of R-spondin1 and Sox9 in mouse sex reversals. - 2012 - PLoS Genet - 8 Pe1003170 - Lavery R, Chassot AA, Pauper E, Gregoire EP, Klopfenstein M, de Rooij DG, Mark M, Schedl A, Ghyselinck NB, and Chaboissier,MC

A novel approach to selectively target neuronal subpopulations reveals genetic pathways that regulate tangential migration in the vertebrate hindbrain. - 2011 - PLoS Genet - 7 Pe1002099 - Benzing K, Flunkert S, Schedl A, and Engelkamp,D

The podocyte protein nephrin is required for cardiac vessel formation. - 2011 - Hum Mol Genet - 20 P2182-94 - Wagner N, Morrison H, Pagnotta S, Michiels JF, Schwab Y, Tryggvason K, Schedl A, and Wagner,KD

More ...

 
Schedl Andreas
Group Leader

2009 Award of the French kidney foundation (Fondation du Rein)

2003 Avenir (INSERM, France)

2002 Philippe Leverhulme Prize (UK)

2001 EMBO Young Investigator Programme

More ...

Members Team
Researchers
   Vidal Valérie
PreDocs
   Da Silva Fabio
   Grabek Anaëlle
   Kozlov Vladimir
Engineers & Technicians
   Jian Motamedi Fariba
   Massa Filippo
Photos ...
JOB OFFERS

    March 2013 - Andres Schedl Team
   1 CDD 30 mois Assistant ingenieur   Closed

    October 2012 - Andreas Schedl Team
   1 CDD 30 mois Assistant ingenieur   Closed

Team
Location
Publication
List
Member's
photos

 

 
  Contact US :
      - Webmasters
      - Director
 
iBV - Institute of Biology Valrose
CNRS UMR7277, Inserm U1091, UNS Université Nice Sophia Antipolis
Parc Valrose
06108 Nice cedex 2 France
 
 
Institute :
  - Presentation
  - Flow Chart
  - Financial Partners
  - Imaging Facility
  - Flow Cytometry
  - Molecular Biology
  - Histopathology
  - Job Offers
  - Access
 
       
 
 
Research teams:
- Amri Ez-Zoubir
- Arkowitz Robert
- Besse Florence
- Braendle Christian
- Chaboissier Marie-Christine
- Collombat Patrick
- Dani Christian
- Delaunay Franck
- Fürthauer Maximilian
- Gouze Elvire
- Hueber Anne-Odile
- Lamonerie Thomas
- Léopold Pierre
- Lepage Thierry
- Morpheme Team
- Noselli Stéphane
- Rassoulzadegan Minoo
- Rauzi Matteo
- Sandoz Guillaume
- Schedl Andreas
- Scimeca Jean-Claude
- Soriani Olivier
- Studer Michele
- Thérond Pascal
- Van Obberghen-Schilling Ellen
- Virolle Thierry
- Wagner Kay Dietrich
 
News & events :
  - Publications
  - News
  - Job Offers
Agenda :
  - Seminars
  - HDR
  - Thesis
  - Full List
  - Congresses
Contacts :
  - Institute
  - Research teams
  - Common facilities
  - General phonebook

Voies moléculaires contrôlant le développement et l’homéostasie tissulaire

Le développement et l’homéostasie des tissus sont des processus fortement interdépendants et les programmes moléculaires pilotant le développement et la différenciation sont également déclenchés lorsque les cellules souches sont activées pour remplacer les cellules endommagées ou perdues. Dans nos études, nous cherchons à comprendre le contrôle transcriptionnel qui sous-tend le développement des tissus, à caractériser les cellules souches/progénitrices dans l'organisme adulte et à déterminer les voies de signalisation impliquées dans leur survie et leur activation. Comme modèle expérimental, nous utilisons la souris, sa physiologie reflétant en grande partie celle du corps humain. Ce modèle permet une manipulation facile de son génome à l'aide de techniques transgéniques et de ciblage génique.


Fig1.: E18.5 développement de rein marqué avec des anticorps WT1 (bleu), Pax2 (vert) et DBA (rouge). E18.5 Rein coloré avec des anticorps dirigés contre WT1 (rouge) et de la néphrine, un marqueur des podocytes glomérulaires (vert).

Le rein de mammifère : un paradigme pour le développement complexe d’un organe

La fonction rénale est vitale pour l’organisme humain. Non seulement nécessaire pour l'élimination des déchets transportés par le sang, c’est aussi un organe central du système cardiovasculaire également impliqué dans les contrôles de la pression artérielle, de la densité osseuse, des concentrations en électrolytes et minéraux et de l’équilibre acide-base. Compte tenu de ces nombreuses fonctions, il n'est pas surprenant que les maladies rénales fassent parties des causes les plus fréquentes de mortalité dans les pays développés et affectent environ 10% de la population adulte.

Le développement du rein nécessite le contrôle précis de la prolifération, de l'apoptose, des mouvements cellulaires et de la différenciation. Ce contrôle est coordonné par des centaines de facteurs de transcription qui forment des réseaux complexes d'interactions. Nous utilisons des approches combinées biochimiques (p. ex. ChIP-Seq) et génétiques pour disséquer la fonction des régulateurs transcriptionnels dans le développement rénal et pour déterminer les programmes transcriptionnels réglementés par ces facteurs. Plusieurs de nos souris génétiquement modifiées représentent aussi d'excellents modèles de maladies humaines, et nous les utilisons pour comprendre les événements moléculaires qui se produisent dans ces pathologies. Nous avons, en particulier, identifié, au cours de nos études, un ensemble de nouveaux gènes « candidats » que nous analysons actuellement pour leur implication dans des maladies humaines.

 


Fig3.: Expériences de traçage de lignée cellulaire identifiant une
nouvelle population de cellules souches/progénitrices dans les
glandes surrénales adultes.

Homéostasie tissulaire et réparation

La réparation des tissus dans la plupart des organes est assurée par des cellules souches/progénitrices résidentes. Si les cellules souches sont essentielles pour la régénération de l'organe, il existe également des preuves solides pour leur implication dans certaines maladies : l’absence d'activation ou l'épuisement du pool de cellules souches peut conduire à la défaillance progressive d'un organe, tandis que l'hyperactivation de cellules souches et la prolifération transitoire de leurs lignées induites peuvent entraîner croissance démesurée et cancer.

Un deuxième objectif de notre groupe est de répondre à plusieurs questions fondamentales de la biologie des cellules souches : quelle est la capacité de différenciation des cellules souches/progénitrices résidentes ? Quels sont les facteurs qui déterminent leur identité et les voies de signalisation qui contrôlent leur survie et leur activation ? Quelle est la cinétique d'activation au cours du processus de réparation ? Enfin, quels sont les liens entre les cellules souches et cancer ? Pour atteindre ces objectifs, nous utilisons l'analyse génétique chez la souris (y compris les souches « rapporteur » pour contrôler l'activité des voies de signalisation), le traçage de lignée pour permettre la cartographie de la destinée cellulaire et l’invalidation spécifique de gène par knock-out et knock-in chez la souris pour manipuler son expression dans l'organisme adulte.


Fig 4.: L’hyperactivation de voies de signalisation prédispose au cancer de la glande surrénale.

 

Dernières publications

Sox9 Activation Highlights a Cellular Pathway of Renal Repair in the Acutely Injured Mammalian Kidney. - 2015 - Cell reports - 12 P1325-38 - Kumar S, Liu J, Pang P, Krautzberger AM, Reginensi A, Akiyama H, Schedl A, Humphreys BD, and McMahon,AP

Alternatively spliced isoforms of WT1 control podocyte-specific gene expression. - 2015 - Kidney international - 88 P321-31 - Lefebvre J, Clarkson M, Massa F, Bradford ST, Charlet A, Buske F, Lacas-Gervais S, Schulz H, Gimpel C, Hata Y, Schaefer F, and Schedl,A

Steroidogenic organ development and homeostasis: A WT1-centric view. - 2015 - Molecular and cellular endocrinology - 408 P145-55 - Bandiera R, Sacco S, Vidal VP, Chaboissier MC, and Schedl,A

WT1 controls antagonistic FGF and BMP-pSMAD pathways in early renal progenitors. - 2014 - Nature communications - 5 P4444 - Motamedi FJ, Badro DA, Clarkson M, Lecca MR, Bradford ST, Buske FA, Saar K, Hì¼bner N, Brì¤ndli AW, and Schedl,A

Visceral and subcutaneous fat have different origins and evidence supports a mesothelial source. - 2014 - Nature cell biology - 16 P367-75 - Chau YY, Bandiera R, Serrels A, Martì­nez-Estrada OM, Qing W, Lee M, Slight J, Thornburn A, Berry R, McHaffie S, Stimson RH, Walker BR, Chapuli RM, Schedl A, and Hastie,N

WT1 Maintains Adrenal-Gonadal Primordium Identity and Marks a Population of AGP-like Progenitors within the Adrenal Gland. - 2013 - Dev Cell - 27 P5-18 - Bandiera R, Vidal VP, Motamedi FJ, Clarkson M, Sahut-Barnola I, von Gise A, Pu WT, Hohenstein P, Martinez A, and Schedl,A

WNT4 and RSPO1 together are required for cell proliferation in the early mouse gonad. - 2012 - Development - 139 P4461-72 - Chassot AA, Bradford ST, Auguste A, Gregoire EP, Pailhoux E, de Rooij DG, Schedl A, and Chaboissier,MC

Testicular differentiation occurs in absence of R-spondin1 and Sox9 in mouse sex reversals. - 2012 - PLoS Genet - 8 Pe1003170 - Lavery R, Chassot AA, Pauper E, Gregoire EP, Klopfenstein M, de Rooij DG, Mark M, Schedl A, Ghyselinck NB, and Chaboissier,MC

A novel approach to selectively target neuronal subpopulations reveals genetic pathways that regulate tangential migration in the vertebrate hindbrain. - 2011 - PLoS Genet - 7 Pe1002099 - Benzing K, Flunkert S, Schedl A, and Engelkamp,D

The podocyte protein nephrin is required for cardiac vessel formation. - 2011 - Hum Mol Genet - 20 P2182-94 - Wagner N, Morrison H, Pagnotta S, Michiels JF, Schwab Y, Tryggvason K, Schedl A, and Wagner,KD

Plus ...

 
Schedl Andreas
Chef d'équipe

2009 Award of the French kidney foundation (Fondation du Rein)

2003 Avenir (INSERM, France)

2002 Philippe Leverhulme Prize (UK)

2001 EMBO Young Investigator Programme

Plus ...

Membres de l'équipe
Chercheurs
   Vidal Valérie
Doctorants
   Da Silva Fabio
   Grabek Anaëlle
   Kozlov Vladimir
Ingénieurs & Techniciens
   Jian Motamedi Fariba
   Massa Filippo
Photos ...
POSTES OFFERTS

    Mars 2013 - Eq. Andres Schedl
   1 CDD 30 mois Assistant ingenieur   Fermé

    Octobre 2012 - Eq. Andreas Schedl
   1 CDD 30 mois Assistant ingenieur   Fermé

Localisation
plan d'accés
Liste des
publications
Photos des membres
de l'équipe

 

 
  Contacts :
      - Webmasters
      - Directeur
 
iBV - Institut de Biologie Valrose
CNRS UMR7277, Inserm U1091, UNS Université Nice Sophia Antipolis
Parc Valrose
06108 Nice cedex 2 France
 
 
L'institut :
  - Présentation
  - Organigramme
  - Nos Soutiens
  - Imagerie (PRISM)
  - Cytométrie
  - Biologie Moléculaire
  - Histopathologie
  - Offres de postes
  - Accès
 
       
 
 
Groupes de recherche :
- Amri Ez-Zoubir
- Arkowitz Robert
- Besse Florence
- Braendle Christian
- Chaboissier Marie-Christine
- Collombat Patrick
- Dani Christian
- Delaunay Franck
- Fürthauer Maximilian
- Gouze Elvire
- Hubstenberger Arnaud
- Hueber Anne-Odile
- Lamonerie Thomas
- Léopold Pierre
- Lepage Thierry
- Equipe Morpheme
- Noselli Stéphane
- Rassoulzadegan Minoo
- Rauzi Matteo
- Sandoz Guillaume
- Schedl Andreas
- Scimeca Jean-Claude
- Soriani Olivier
- Studer Michele
- Pascal Thérond
- Ellen Van Obberghen-Schilling
- Virolle Thierry
- Wagner Kay Dietrich
 
Actualités :
  - Publications
  - Actualités
  - Offres de postes
Agenda :
  - Conférences
  - HDR
  - Thèses
  - Liste globale
  - Congrès
Nous Contacter :
  - Direction
  - Groupes de recherche
  - Services techniques
  - Annuaire général